Bledisloe Cup History – Did You Know?

Bledisloe Cup was awarded almost eighty years ago in 1931 by  Charles Bathurst - the fourth Governor General of New Zealand and the 1st Viscount Bledisloe to be the symbol of clashes between the All Blacks and Wallabies.  

The Bledisloe Cup  trophy was designed in New Zealand by Nelson Isaac, and crafted by Walker and Hall in London and is the largest rugby trophy in the world.

The Bledisloe Cup is regarded now as one of the hardest such crowns to win, notwithstanding the fact that the two sides are now legitimate superpowers on the world rugby stage. The holder of the Bledisloe Cup has a considerable advantage, being that the challenger needs to win a greater number of matches to take the famous trophy.


The Wallabies, challengers this year, will need to beat the All Blacks three times this year to win.
From 2003 to the present day, the All Blacks are currently in the middle of the second longest Bledisloe Cup reign in history, winning 12 of 16 matches against their most prolifically encountered foes.

Bledisloe Cup record from 1931, when cup was inaugurated

HEAD TO HEAD: Played 113, New Zealand 77, Australia 32, Drawn 4
SERIES VICTORIES: Played 49, New Zealand 37 (including 1931), Australia 12

This article was written by
Ian Fraser of Hospitality Solutions Ltd

Ian Fraser has worked in corporate hospitality and
event management for over sixteen years. In this
time, he has organised over 800 functions and
events and project directed some very large
hospitality projects/ events.
In recent years, he has also been approached by
organisations to assist them in a consultancy role.


Contact us
+64 9 6200 957
021 742 557